Making Cents of Ideas

One of my reasons for coming back was to share some of the ideas I come up with on a daily basis. I’ve been steadily filling the Notes app on my mac with every decent idea that comes to me. Maintaining a record of all my ideas is not only enjoyable, but essential to cultivating ideas in general. I’ve seen both the quality and frequency of new ideas increase since I started keeping a record.

Before I dive in, let me clarify what I mean by an idea. In most every context I use the word to mean a PLAN, rather than a CONCEPT or THOUGHT. While all three meanings are indeed similar, I tend to view them as having separate levels of complexity. In this sense the term is best suited for describing a goal, vision, or plan of action.

My ideas are essentially crude business plans that possess the potential for profit by attempting to capitalize on an opportunity in a new or original way.

The key word in the last sentence was ‘attempting.’ Welcome to the life of  my life as an entrepreneur. We all face the same grueling uncertainty day-in and day-out: “Is an idea worth the time, effort, and resources necessary to make it a reality?”

I consider myself an entrepreneur because hell, who doesn’t? It’s  THE go-to career choice for every unemployed, single man in the United States.

For a young entrepreneur like myself, the answer is found in the followup question: “Does it exist?” Determining whether a thought pre-existed elsewhere prior to its conception in one’s own mind is the most decisive test there is. A simple Google search is usually enough to kill even the best of them. Unfortunately, as I’ve yet to have an idea make it past this stage I have no further experience.

I’m no closer to the “big one” than an unborn child to its first steps. Fortunately, an awareness of the “big picture” ensures I remain grounded and focused on the task at hand. Better yet, I grasp that the success of an idea lies in its execution and far less in the idea itself.

Therefore I avoid investing too much into any one avenue of thought. I keep an open mind. I’m confident that an idea worth the risk will make quite an entrance when it finally arrives.

 

Featured Image: penny-wise Photo By [K.L. https://www.flickr.com/photos/kolix/2731237721/in/photolist-]
Leave a Reply

