I’m Lovin It

It’s been a while since I’ve had time to sit down and write something worthwhile. The past week was nothing but tests and homework leaving me little time to do anything extracurricular.

I’m trying a new theme and will hopefully find a good way of organizing content here in the next week. I want to continue blogging as normal, but I’m looking for a way to separate my somewhat personal blog and the information that I plan to gather.

So far I’m thinking most of the navigation should be centered towards finding major articles and subjects rather than a live blog feed. As a result, I’m in the process of switching several posts to pages. I’m thinking the more informational pieces will be on pages rather than posts.

I’m still pretty new to customizing WordPress.com to the fullest extent, but I’ve really been considering going self-hosted just so I have full CSS control. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to layout and design, and would rather have complete aesthetic control over the way content is arranged.

However, I think I’ll hold off a while longer just to see if there’s enough promise in this before making a larger commitment. After all, I’ve just now been back for a month.

In the meantime, I’m hoping to get back to publishing at a normal rate. I’ll continue to tweak the site for some time until I get it right, but don’t be surprised if WordPress.org woos me away.

Any random advice for balancing an informational and semi-personal blog?

 

Featured Image: An Open Invitation Photo By [Quinn Mattingly Link to Flickr]

Leave a Reply

